You are currently browsing the daily archive for January 3, 2012.


The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2011 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

The concert hall at the Syndey Opera House holds 2,700 people. This blog was viewed about 15,000 times in 2011. If it were a concert at Sydney Opera House, it would take about 6 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

Click here to see the complete report.


Stitching has in recent years become the kind of hobby that satisfies because it is FUN!  There are no limits in the area of design, income, achievements and helping people.  There is a lot of creativity embedded in it which unfolds by the day.

Princess Mutero

Princess Mutero

My five years of stitching have brought a tremendous world of difference to my life.  I never knew that this talent was embedded in me until circumstances forced the potential to reveal.  One of my neighbours who dealt with interior decoration led me into this art.  She did much curtain work with related fabric designs.  After a short conversation one evening, she retorted that one needs only to know how to stitch a straight line and that was it.

Princess Mutero's Patchwork

Princess Mutero's Patchwork

My classes in quilt making have taken me to a different world, not mentioning I can embroider and do much more in fabric designing.  A workshop with the children last week left me with a sense that I need to hand over these teaching skills to the coming generations.  It was great fun looking at children starting from scratch and doing some basic bags and pillow case designing!

Stitching is a skill that is therapeutic and keeps one very refreshed.  It prevents you from invading the fridge as nothing else appears to matter at that time.

Sausage Roll Pillow Case made by Princess Mutero

Sausage Roll Pillow Case made by Princess Mutero

There is no end to stitching and design and the field is very overwhelming.  When you are well equipped with the tools needed, then you may go to heights you never imagined.  One of my sisters remarked that I speak stitching 24/7 and this makes my heart smile.  It has really become my lifestyle and I long to do projects to impact all generations and preserve history.

My ambition is to travel to many nations of the world and be able to do some fabric designing on what I observe. One of my models is Pam Holland, a lady who does 6 hours of stitching daily and if she does not accomplish that in a day, she has to deal with the lost hours the following day.

So grateful to have discovered my passion, my talent, my lifestyle – STITCHING!

Welcome to the Kenya Quilt Guild!

Find us based in Nairobi, Kenya, happily quilting away. If you're around, look us up. We're always happy to make new quilting friends!
Kenya Quilt Guild
January 2012
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Kenya Embroiderers Guild
International Quilt Convention Africa

BWS tips button

Expat in Kenya

Quilt Guilds

Quilt Guilds Directory

Archives

Categories

living in Kenya

  Expat Women - Inspiring Your Success Abroad

Contact Kenya Quilt Guild

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Thanks for joining us!

Join 1,977 other followers