I began with patchwork. Its therapeutic precision, discipline and repetition reawakened my mind, which had been rendered void by severe depression. Having retired from nursing in 2005 I immediately joined the Kenya Quilt Guild where a whole new creative world opened up for me.

With three traditional quilt tops ready to be quilted by someone else I met Alison Farmer, a prolific hand quilter. With a little blood and a few tears she taught me to hand quilt and I was well and truly hooked!

Living in Kenya for twenty-three years has given me a passion for all things African. It’s wealth of inspiration almost matches the infinite possibilities of quilting. All this can be somewhat overwhelming and as a ‘budding’ quilter I like to be guided,  whether it is by a book, a challenge, a theme or a teacher.

My aim is to flower as a quilter and develop more as an artist in my own right.

I have a passion for fabrics, colour, beads and embellishments. I love dabbling into other mediums that can later be incorporated into quilts. I am inspired by the vastness of Africa, her quirkiness, the wildlife, landscapes and people.

My marriage to Peter, a Kenyan, has given me tremendous insight in to the Kenyan way of life and its challenges. Through him I have been given opportunities that I would never have dreamed. We have a luxury tented camp for tourists in the Masai Mara, a haven of peace and beauty.

I have exhibited in the Kenya Quilt Guild shows in Nairobi and at Ailsa Craig in Ontario, Canada, and have sold several wall hangings. Currently I am working on a commissioned piece and a ‘round robin’ quilt that will be exhibited in Ireland next year at the International Quilt Festival of Ireland.

Quilting is unifying. I know that I could contact a quilt group anywhere in the world and be welcomed. I thank all the friends I have made through this art for their inspiration and guidance.

Sun and Sky by Gretchen Mwaura

Sun and Sky by Gretchen Mwaura

Helping Hands by Gretchen Mwaura

Helping Hands by Gretchen Mwaura

Vuvuzela! by Gretchen Mwaura

Vuvuzela! by Gretchen Mwaura

