The Banyan Tree Project by Eleanor Viegas of Goa   Eleanor Viegas sent out a call for help in Goa. In her own words, Eleanor says,

My aim in Goa is to help keep the textile arts alive and arrange workshops in Peace Cottage to encourage women to  take up or come back to the craft of embroidery and other textile arts. In Goa the skills are dying and I am now linking the craft to the idea of meditation and a stress free life.

I don`t have funding to bring people to Goa but I do have a creative peaceful space near the beach where friends can stay. It would suit someone who was already thinking to travel for inspiration and a holiday. I stay in a very quiet part of Goa and who ever comes may like to travel around and stay in other parts of Goa or India.

The possibility of an international project which links women and embroidery/patchwork in different parts of the world interests me. One project I am currently working on is The Banyan Tree Embroidery project. I am in the process of setting up a website.

  Eleanor is eager to have quilters come to teach classes at the Peace Cottage in Goa. Find out more about Eleanor Viegas and her call for help: http://www.carpediemgoa.com/news/creative-evolution-social-fabric

